SEA, previously known as WEA (Workshop on Experimental Algorithms), is an international forum for researchers in the area of design, analysis, and experimental evaluation and engineering of algorithms, as well as in various aspects of computational optimization and its applications. The preceding symposia were held in Riga, Monte Verita, Rio de Janeiro, Santorini, Menorca Island, Rome, Cape Cod, Dortmund, Ischia Island, and Crete.

The main theme of the symposium is the role of experimentation and of algorithm engineering techniques in the design and evaluation of algorithms and data structures. Submissions should present significant contributions supported by experimental evaluation, methodological issues in the design and interpretation of experiments, the use of (meta-)heuristics, or application-driven case studies that deepen the understanding of a problem's complexity.


Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Algorithm Engineering
  • Algorithmic Libraries
  • Algorithmic Mechanism Design
  • Analysis of Algorithms
  • Algorithms for Memory Hierarchies
  • Approximation Techniques
  • Bioinformatics
  • Branch and Bound Algorithms
  • Combinatorial and Irregular Problems
  • Combinatorial Structures and Graphs
  • Communication Networks
  • Complex Networks
  • Computational Geometry
  • Computational Learning Theory
  • Computational Optimization
  • Computer Systems
  • Cryptography and Security
  • Data Streams
  • Data Structures
  • Distributed and Parallel Algorithms
  • Evaluation of Algorithms for Realistic Environments
  • Experimental Techniques and Statistics
  • Graph Drawing
  • Heuristics for Combinatorial Optimization
  • Implementation, Testing, Evaluation and Fine-tuning
  • Information Retrieval
  • Integer Programming
  • Logistics and Operations Management
  • Machine Learning and Data Mining
  • Mathematical Programming
  • Metaheuristic Methodologies
  • Multiple Criteria Decision Making
  • Network Analysis
  • Novel Applications of Algorithms in Other Disciplines
  • On-line Problems
  • Parallel Algorithms and Computing
  • Railway Optimization using Algorithmic Methods
  • Randomized Techniques
  • Robotics
  • Semidefinite Programming
  • Simulation
  • Software Repositories and Platforms for using Algorithms
  • Telecommunications and Networking
  • World Wide Web Algorithms


Submission deadline: January 25, 2012 January 31, 2012 (23:59 Honolulu time)
Author notification: March 9, 2012
Camera-ready submission: March 25, 2012


Accepted papers will appear in the SEA 2012 proceedings published by Springer Verlag in the LNCS series. (Some papers may be invited to be published as short papers.)


Selected papers from SEA 2012 will be considered for a special issue of the ACM Journal on Experimental Algorithmics (


Authors are invited to submit high-quality manuscripts reporting original unpublished research and recent developments in the topics related to the symposium. Simultaneous submission to other conferences or workshops with published proceedings is not allowed.

Submissions must not exceed 12 pages formatted according to LNCS style plus an optional, clearly marked appendix of reasonable length (to be read at the program committee's discretion). All papers will be peer reviewed and comments will be provided to the authors.


  • Ioannis Caragiannis (U. Patras & CTI, Greece)
  • Colin Cooper (King's College London, UK)
  • David Coudert (INRIA Sophia, France)
  • Jurek Czyzowicz (U. Québec en Outaouais, Canada)
  • Robert Elsässer (U. Paderborn, Germany)
  • Thomas Erlebach (U. of Leicester, UK)
  • Sándor P. Fekete (TU Braunschweig, Germany)
  • Paola Festa (U. of Napoli Federico II, Italy)
  • Michele Flammini (U. L'Aquila, Italy)
  • Pierre Fraigniaud (CNRS and U. Paris Diderot, France)
  • Leszek Gąsieniec (U. Liverpool, UK)
  • Juraj Hromkovič (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Christos Kaklamanis (U. Patras & CTI, Greece)
  • Ralf Klasing (CNRS and U. Bordeaux, France) - chair
  • Mirosław Korzeniowski (Wrocław U. Technology, Poland)
  • Adrian Kosowski (INRIA Bordeaux, France)
  • Arie M.C.A. Koster (RWTH Aachen, Germany)
  • Dariusz R. Kowalski (U. Liverpool & IMDEA Networks)
  • Christian Laforest (U. Blaise Pascal, Clermont Ferrand, France)
  • Leo Liberti (LIX, Ecole Polytechnique, France)
  • Andrea Lodi (U. of Bologna, Italy)
  • Alberto Marchetti-Spaccamela (U. of Rome "La Sapienza", Italy)
  • Luca Moscardelli (U. Chieti-Pescara, Italy)
  • Petra Mutzel (TU Dortmund, Germany)
  • Alfredo Navarra (U. Perugia, Italy)
  • Marina Papatriantafilou (Chalmers U. Technology, Göteborg, Sweden)
  • Panos M. Pardalos (U. Florida, USA)
  • Vangelis Th. Paschos (U. Paris-Dauphine, France)
  • Joseph G. Peters (Simon Fraser U., Canada)
  • Guido Proietti (U. L'Aquila, Italy)
  • Tomasz Radzik (King's College London, UK)
  • Mauricio G.C. Resende (AT&T Labs - Research, USA)
  • Celso C. Ribeiro (U. Federal Fluminense, Brazil)
  • Nicolas Schabanel (CNRS and U. Paris Diderot, France)
  • Christian Scheideler (U. Paderborn, Germany)
  • Leen Stougie (VU University & CWI, Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  • Walter Unger (RWTH Aachen, Germany)
  • Annegret Wagler (U. Blaise Pascal, Clermont Ferrand, France)
  • Christos Zaroliagis (U. Patras & CTI, Greece)


  • Edoardo Amaldi (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • David A. Bader (Georgia Inst. of Technology, USA)
  • Josep Diaz (T.U. Catalonia, Spain)
  • Giuseppe F. Italiano (U. Roma "Tor Vergata", Italy)
  • David S. Johnson (AT&T Labs - Research, USA)
  • Klaus Jansen (U. Kiel, Germany)
  • Kurt Mehlhorn (MPII Saarbrücken, Germany)
  • Ian Munro (U. Waterloo, Canada)
  • Sotiris Nikoletseas (U. Patras & CTI, Greece)
  • Jose Rolim (U. Geneva, Switzerland) - chair
  • Pavlos Spirakis (U. Patras & CTI, Greece)


  • Lionel Eyraud-Dubois (INRIA, Bordeaux, France)
  • Florent Foucaud (U. Bordeaux, France)
  • Ralf Klasing (CNRS and U. Bordeaux, France) - chair
  • Miroslaw Korzeniowski (Wroclaw U. Technology, Poland)
  • Adrian Kosowski (INRIA, Bordeaux, France)
  • Nicole Lun (LaBRI, Bordeaux, France)
  • Lebna Mizani (LaBRI, Bordeaux, France)
  • Thomas Morsellino (U. Bordeaux, France)
  • Dominik Pająk (INRIA, Bordeaux, France)
  • Corentin Travers (ENSEIRB, Bordeaux, France)
  • Petru Valicov (U. Bordeaux, France)


For further information, please send an e-mail to